Get Free Quote

Testimonials

Leave a Review

I bought a home in Tacoma 3+ years ago and knew from the inspection that the side sewer, made of orangeburg pipe was in bad shape and would need to be replaced in the coming years. In the years since I noticed many of my neighbors with the same problem paying to have their front yard dug up and in some cases the street. In each case I stopped to talk to the home owner about what was going on and learned only one thing for certain. It was a very expensive repair. But each had a different story about what they were told had to be done and the prices varied wildly. Anyway I knew the problem was hiding underground and would surface soon enough. So when the drains backed up I started calling around to get some estimates and it was just as I expected. The scope of work required to fix the problem varied as well as the price. One guy looked at it and opened up a brochure with pictures boxes and pointed to one of the more expensive options like I was ordering off the kids menu. Finally Robert from R&D came out and looked at the job and offered a price considerably less then anyone before him. It made me a little nervous but he seemed honest so I gave him the job. They got the necessary permits and showed up on time, finishing the same day. That included coordinating with the city to inspect the work and repave the street. I feel like I got quality work done at a fair price and would recommend R&D Construction for your project. By the way I spoke with 3 different people who worked for the City of Tacoma Sewer Dept and each said the same thing. Robert’s one of the best!

-Michael Berry December 4, 2019


Rob did a Sewer hook up for me in Lakewood. He took care of the permit, all the materials needed, always called me back the same day. Great guy to work with. If you have any questions give me a call. 253-222-3121.Jim

-Jim Hansen May 4, 2019


I am happy to recommend R & D Construction for probably any kind of earthwork project. We needed a large hole excavated in our backyard to accommodate a 2 car garage next to our daylight basement that fronts on the alley. Another company that is doing the underground basement plumbing and changes to the side sewer to connect at a lower elevation hired them and the price to us is entirely reasonable. Due to our tight schedule and the size of the excavation they subbed out to R & D. Robert said he could start at a certain day and the excavation would take 3 days. He showed up on time with properly sized equipment, backhoe's and trucks, and did a beautiful job. We very much appreciated the "choreography" very much. There was no wasted motion as he broke up the old patio, took out the retaining wall on the alley and filled many large truckloads of earth. He and the others on his team were great to work with. All of the excavation was complete in the 3 days as promised and the priced was right. We look forward to the back-filling operation and would definitely use their services again for any kind of earthwork. Dallas Hoopes, architect

-Dallas Hoopes April 9, 2019


R&D Construction in Tacoma was recommended to us by a friend to come assess and repair a major leak in our under ground water line. Owner Robert Ayers offered a less expensive, workable solution that had not even been suggested by the first company we called. Robert and his crew successfully completed this repair, and we are very pleased with the results. We found them to be professional, courteous, and reasonable for the quality of their work. Van & Lynn V

-R Lynn G Victor March 30, 2019


R&D Construction in Tacoma was recommended to us by a friend to come assess and repair a major leak in our under ground water line. Owner Robert Ayers offered a less expensive, workable solution that had not even been suggested by the first company we called. Robert and his crew successfully completed this repair, and we are very pleased with the results. We found them to be professional, courteous, and reasonable for the quality of their work.

-R Lynn G Victor March 30, 2019


I've worked with a lot of contractors. Robert is by far the most honest and kind. He did an excellent job and met extremely demanding deadlines. I would use R&D again because I believe Robert made my needs his priority.

-Lucy Leach February 20, 2019


Robert and his crew dominated the installation of my new sewer line. The price was good as well. He tore 8 ugly Juniper's for me for no extra charge. These guys get the job done right!

-Tony Mastroianni February 9, 2019


R & D construction have done two jobs for me. They have been extremely professional. One time, do the right work, efficient and a reaonable price. I would recommend to anyone in need of their services.

-Leighton OBrien January 10, 2019


I cant begin to describe how wonderful this company is. Not only did their bid come in a 1/4 of the competitors, I'm not kidding. I thought I was going to have to drain my savings and not only was the price good, the work was amazing. Fast, proffesional, and Robert has called since to give us new home owner tips and just to check back that we are satisfied. That has not been my experience with other contractors I have worked with and it is a refreshing surprise to feel cared about. I wish I could tell everyone about this company because I cant say enough good things. HIGHLY RECCOMEND. Thank you so much Robert.

-Tiffani Heveroh December 14, 2018


R&D Construction and crew did a super job! On time, under budget, minimal disruption to my daily life. If ever needed again, would use in a heartbeat, no hesitation! Would highly recommend to all Thank you! TC Berntsen (November 15, 2018)

-Tim Berntsen November 16, 2018


Robert, Roy and crew are great to work with. They are prompt on bids, do the job when they say they will, explain the process and do a great job - what more could you ask for!? We recommend them highly!

-Jerry Vorpahl November 2, 2018


I have hired R&D Construction for several projects and Robert and his crew have come through for me time and time again. Very knowledgeable ,prompt ,and prices are fair. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend R&D Construction and look forward to working with them in the future. Robert, thanks again for all your help!

-Tod Gagne October 26, 2018


Robert has enviable ethics, knowledge, and pride as a contractor. His bids are all-inclusive, his timing is as represented, and his ability to foresee problems before they arise is amazing. He is intimately familiar with permitting processes and follows them to the letter. I am a real estate Broker and he is my source for anything requiring dirt work - sewer lines, clearing, grading, etc. Call him and you will experience a business modality and establish a contractor relationship that is the indication of a consummate professional.

-Kris Hare October 18, 2018


Great to deal with. I am happy with services.

-Y.Wells September 26, 2018


Robert Thank you so much for your help. I will let others know what fine work you do. It was really nice working with you. Leland

-Leland September 26, 2018


Thank you for your work repairing the sewer pipe & sidewalk. I appreciate your ability to start the project quickly & keep me in the loop w/ progress.  

- Bethanne B. September 26, 2018


Hired R&D Construction to replace the sewer line from my house to the street (about 65 feet).  They were on top of things all the way -- got the permit, located all utilities, and then did the job on schedule in one day -- they used a 'pipe bursting' method and there was minimal disruption to my yard. They dug two holes, one at each end of the new pipe location, and strung the pipe from one end to the other. No problems.  Their price was pretty good as well.  Robert, the owner, is a nice guy who explained the process and answered all my questions.  He was responsive via email before and after the job.  I highly recommend them.

-R.J.  Tacoma, WA September 26, 2018


Was fortunate to hire Robert, owner of R and D Construction (website randconstruction.org ) of Tacoma  to replace my side sewer.  Robert and his crew are very fair on price, knowledgeable, fast, thorough and in every way do excellent work.  R and D Construction is also a company of integrity and dependability.  Robert is personable, answers questions, explains everything well and keeps his clients informed on progress.  I highly recommend Robert.

-Jon S.  Tacoma, WA September 26, 2018


Had R&D put in a new sewer line as my original was in pretty bad shape. They did a great job at a very reasonable price -- Robert is very responsive. He answered all my questions, handled the permit, and left everything neat and orderly. I strongly recommend them.

-B.C. Tacoma, WA September 26, 2018


I've repeatedly hired R&D Construction for my projects, primarily for backhoe work. They've come through on other jobs as well. They've used their backhoe for several purposes: removing overburden to expose the naturally deposited soil underneath; trenching through overburden, human-made deposits and natural deposits so that we could map them; and removing and replacing steel plates at the beginning and end of the day, respectively. All were done incredibly well to suit our needs. They really listen. They are incredibly observant. In addition, they have laid down and compacted gravel on a driveway after we completed our studies (that driveway turned out incredibly nice, especially considering it was gravel). They also quickly and efficiently repaired storm drain pipe. R&D Construction does great work. Our Portland office recommended them and I was happy that they did. Not only that, they are pleasant and easy to get along with.

-Shari S. Seattle, WA August 31, 2018


R And D construction is does great work for a very reasonable and competitive price. I had my side sewer replaced. Robert came out took a look at the sewer, knew exactly what needed to be done. Gave me an estimate told me he could do the work in a day. He was true to his word showed up that day at the time he gave me and got the work done.

- Bobbi Albert August 31, 2018


Write A Review

CONTACT US

Get in touch with us